White gold is white gold?

For our third participation blog our assignment was to check out an online branded community and then share our opinion. I had a hard time finding other online branded communities so I chose to check out www.whitegoldiswhitegold.com, which happened to be an example our professor provided for us.

            As I entered the site I was immediately taken back by the loud and rather obnoxious sounds it was generating. I thought the music would stop eventually but it didn’t and with every click of the mouse the music just got worse and worse and louder and louder. Feeling like I was stuck in a psychedelic rave wasn’t what I had anticipated. I found myself having to mute my computer several times to keep from pulling my hair out. 

            I tried to explore the site as much as my brain would possibly allow and didn’t understand what the main point of it was. It is suppose to just be a fun and silly online thing devoted to milk or is there any real purpose to it? I tried to get into it and the different tasks and options to chose from but found myself becoming frustrated at how corny and weird it all was. Adding to my frustration was the fact that it took an unusual amount of time to load all the different options and patience isn’t really a virtue of mine.

            I thought the characters that were used in the making were all really weird and far out. I usually have a great sense of humor but didn’t find anything they were doing or wearing at all funny. The humor seemed childish to me and that could have possibly been the audience the site was meant to reach out to. Maybe this site just wasn’t my type of humor and I’m not taking away from others who may have found this funny.  

            This site did not affect my attitude or actions towards the product being marketed, which I’m going to assume is milk. I am already lactose intolerant so my opinion on this could be a little bias but I do believe that even if I weren’t intolerant of dairy products I still would not thirst for milk after viewing this site. On a much less critical note I could see sites that this being influential towards marketing other products. If they had virtual clothing sites like this I could find myself being much more interested and involved. I would also suggest losing the crazy rave music and odd-looking virtual characters. 

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

