Is Your Online Personality Real?

In the world of online networking, is there ever a way to truly convey your real personality on the web? Do smiley faces, exclamations points, lols make you seem as happy and bubbly as you really are? Or does it just lead your online community astray from your real character?

In Sam Fiorella recent post, What Is Your Social Media Personality, he speaks about the power of your Social Media personality and how it manifests itself through the comments, opinions, and ideas you produce via the web. Unintentionally, you are self-branding through your actions and it’s up to the World Wide Web to come to a conclusion about who you or your business really is.

I believe that your online activity should always reflect who you are IRL (the acronym for In Real Life.) Fake online personas are just as bad as fake Facebook accounts. You think you are engaging with an individual or business that you enjoy only to be let down when the personality doesn’t match the contents character.

When creating your brand, you must remember at all times what you want your Social Media personality to be and stick with it. Think thoroughly about the impact of your comments, blogs, Twitter updates, and Facebook statuses can make. Each of these media outlets will ultimately create a lasting impression on your target audiences.

Through reading this article I have been able to go back and find what I believe my Social Media personality is. I am known through my tweets, Facebook updates, and various other media outlets as a funny and jokerster like character. Does it match up to my real personality? I guess my readers will just have to meet me, IRL.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

