Media Lists

This week I have been using a new tool called, Vocus. It’s a tool used to compile media lists for clients about sources who are reviewing their products. In order to compile the lists, I have to spend multiple hours searching the internet for any article that talks about my clients products. Not only is it time consuming but it’s pretty redundant. However, the final product is worth it. 

The biggest challenge I have had with using Vocus is the slowness of the program and the detail it needs. I have found that although the internet can be an extremely helpful place, a lot of the sites I deal with lack contact information for it’s writers or editor’s. I have realized that I spend the majority of time trying to search for the missing information than entering them into the new system. Vocus allows us to send out our press releases and basically pitch all of the writers that are buzzing about our clients in one fall swoop. Not only does it increase coverage and attention, but it feels good to know that I have personally made that happen! Learning new internet tools has been a great thing about my internship. I am constantly getting to learn and mess around with various online public relation tools and learn what their importance is. I normally mess around with online programs, so at times it feels more like play than work. I am getting use to the repetiveness of the process and admit that sometimes it’s frustrating. However, being allowed to plug one of my headphones in and be distracted by music is pretty nice.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

