Just Chillin’

Throughout my college career, I assumed that when I graduated and went out into the public relations workforce, I would be met with a stuffy and uptight office situation where suits were the requirement and any sort of creative clothing expression would be appalling. However, the exact opposite has happened while working for my current agency. 

Never have I had the luxury of wearing whatever I wanted to the office and not feeling awkward or inappropriate. I am not saying that I wear anything inappropriate or distasteful, I keep it looking good and fresh, but the informaliness of it has been a great thing. Not only do my bosses work their butts off to ensure that our agency is meeting our clients needs and producing great results, but they do it while drinking enormous amounts of coffee, in a t-shirt and jeans. The uptight idea I had about public relations, although still there, has been put into a tiny box in my mind.

I walk into work everyday and get to joke about the weekend activities with my co-workers and talk to them like they are my friends instead of my supervisors. I believe that in the long run I am showing them that not only am I an enjoyable person but that I also get along with the office vibe. I strongly believe that personality is a big key in getting hired. Being able to vibe with the setting you are going into will show your boss that not only are you personable, but that you are a real human being.

Now, I am not saying you should cross boundaries and tell your bosses everything, but I am saying you should find a way to relate to them and show them that you have a good personality and can vibe well with people.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Chillin’

  1. pdxsx says:

    Good post, Ayan. It’s smart to be personable and fun in the workplace, just also make sure that you are always delivering the top work for your employer. Also, it doesn’t hurt when the workplace is relaxed. Believe me, there are lots of agencies that do not share the same attitude as yours does!

    ~J

  2. megankleck says:

    I was amazed at the relaxedness of the wardrobe at my internship as well. Its crazy how excited I was to be able to wear jeans to work, instead of heels and a skirt. I liked your take on being able to fit the office vibe. I interviewed at some advertising agencies where I knew I could do the work and excel, but I would not be happy because my personality and the personality at those agencies clashed. I finally found a perfect fit with the agency I am at now, but I wonder, if altering my interaction with others in order to fit the vibe of an office would be better than choosing an office that fits it naturally? Its good to mesh with a multitude of individuals. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

