Myers-Briggs Personality Reveals….

When I first took the Myers-Briggs test, I was told that I would be a florist and would strive well in that career path. After an hour of filling out tiny answer bubbles and anxiously awaiting what major I would pick, I was pissed. 

However, upon reading the Mirror, Mirror, article I was able to identify what my personality type most closely resembles. It took me a couple times to really figure out what I identified with and I have decided I am an ENTP.

ENTP stands for, Extraverted, Intuitive, Thinking, Perceiving. A portion of the official description of an ENTP is such:

“ENTPs are basically optimists, but in spite of this (perhaps because of it?), they can become petulant about small setbacks and inconveniences. (Major setbacks they regard as challenges, and tackle with determination.) ENTPs have little patience with those they consider wrongheaded or unintelligent, and show little restraint in demonstrating this. In general, however, they are genial, even charming, when not being harassed by life.

ENTPs are usually verbally as well as cerebrally quick, and generally love to argue–both for its own sake, and to show off their debating skills. ENTPs tend to have a perverse sense of humor as well, and enjoy playing devil’s advocate. This sometimes confuses, even angers, those who don’t understand or accept the concept of argument as a sport.”

How this personality types relates to my career path is similar. Public relations is all about finding creative and effective ways of communicating between a client and their intended audience. Many ENTP’s love challenges and are fascinated by new ideas and creative impulses.

I found that career wise, because ENTP’s talk so quickly and so much, we sometimes don’t give others a chance to put their ideas in for a more rounded solution. I could see this being an issue with my career path. With the current intern situation I am in, I want to appear to be the smartest and best at whatever I am doing. However, taking a step back and letting others come forward to share their ideas, could end up making me look better instead of me trying to shout out all the answers. So note to self Ayan: shut up sometimes.

ENTP’s are great with social interactions, which is a huge help with the career I am in. In order to make it in the public relations field, you have to deal with the public, right?! However, with my personality type and career choice, I have to make sure that I don’t allow the more fun and exciting things to come before my work obligations. 

Overall, I found out that I talk a lot, am creative and enjoy social interactions. Who would of known?

A few famous ENTP’s… Oh hey Mr. President.

Diablo Cody. Writer of the movie Juno.
About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myers-Briggs Personality Reveals….

  1. pdxsx says:

    Good work, Ayan. I can wholeheartedly agree that YOU are most definitely an E! 🙂

    ~J

Leave a Reply

