Beginning the Search

Although there is a higher chance that many of us will be hiring out of our current internships, I believe in keeping my options open. Although I would prefer to be hired from my current internship opportunity, I am not going to assume it’s a for sure thing.

Keeping my options open means starting to look around at what other possible opportunities are out there and applying. It can take awhile for your application to even be processed or the position to be filled so starting now is primetime. Also, I was always taught that the best time to look for a job is when you already have one and I already have one, kinda.

I have started utilizing Mac’s List and Twitter to find possibly job opportunities. They have both been very effective ways of seeing what’s going on out there. Sadly, a lot of positions open right now are not looking for entry level candidates but that hasn’t stopped me from applying. Maybe by the time I am done with my internship, I will be a bit above entry level?

When it comes to asking for a letter of recommendation, I am a bit at a loss for how to go about that. I know we are suppose to wait for a few more weeks and we will learn about the ins and outs of that process in class. Thankfully I have past LORs that I can use when applying for jobs now.

I am not saying that I don’t want to be hired out of my current position, because I do. But I have learned from my other internship opportunities not to get my hopes up and always have a backup plan. While I wait to see if I will be hired out, I am going to continue to produce the best work possible and really learn as much as I can. Also, I think that my current bosses, if unable to give me a job, would go to the mat to find me something else out there.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beginning the Search

  1. sassyarmstrong says:

    Way to go with keeping your options open! And applying for jobs! I think there’s no harm in applying for a job above entry level because you just never know. At the very least it will get your name into their brains somehow. 🙂 Keep it up Ayan!

  2. pdxsx says:

    Play it cool, Ayan. I’m certain you’ll have a great LOR waiting for you at the end and when/if needed.

    ~J

Leave a Reply

