Biting Off More Than You Can Chew?

For the past few weeks I have found that I seem to be constantly biting off more than I can chew. Whether it be taking on two major projects at the same time or starting a project I know nothing about, it has become a major source of stress at my internship.

After beating myself down and telling myself that I am not the worker bee I had thought I was, I decided to take a deep breath and find the best possible solution to my overload problem. This meant finding a way to meet with my boss and pitch the solution I had come up with which was working more hours  in order to complete the projects.  Since my agency is small and deals with budget boundaries, I thought that this would be a rejected idea and my life of utter chaos and confusion would continue. However, I was totally wrong. 

Not only did my boss think it was a good idea but he expressed how impressed he was with me stepping up to the plate and coming to him with something I wanted instead of the other way around. To my surprise I am now working 25 hours a week and able to get all my projects completed and then some. Not only has this made me feel more secure about my ability as a worker to ask for the things I need, but like a real adult in the real working world. I believe that my stepping up to the plate has cast me in a new light to my coworkers. I have stepped out of the role of the “average” internship and into a more respected and appreciated role. Overall, my advice would be to ask for what you want and if you are rejected, at least you tried.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Biting Off More Than You Can Chew?

  1. pdxsx says:

    YAY! Look at you, lady! Nice work!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

