Spell Checking is Crucial

When I was offered my current internship position I have given an email address through the agency to use. One of the effective ways coworkers communicate here is through a general everybody@yadayada.com contact. This contact emails one email out to everyone in the office and has been helpful in keeping us all updating on days off or other events coming up. 

When using this email you must remember that the message you are creating will be sent to everybody. That means the top dogs are going to see what you are writing and you should still make sure you use proper grammar and SPELL CHECK YOUR WORK. Me, being the fast typer that I am, got a bit careless last week and did not spell check or even read over what I had typed. Although it was just a message about when I was taking my lunch, I managed to spell two words wrong and include multiple smiley faces, UGH.

Although nothing about the message was ever mentioned, I realized how unprofessional my message looked. While the format of my message is the general format everybody uses in the office (informal) I need to remain professional and remember what proper email etiquette is.

I understand that an earlier post I made was about appearing down to earth and personable with your coworkers but using improper email etiquette is a big no no. Could it have been worse, ABSOLUTELY. Thank God it wasn’t and I have learned my lesson.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

