Projects

Since I decided to step up my hours, the projects I have been given have been more complex and longer than before. This is something I am really enjoying and in my opinion, excelling at. The three main projects I am working on are:

1) I am creating blog posts based around an area of expertise of the firm I work for. This means setting up Google Alerts, which bother me day and night, and having my grammar checked by a senior account assistant. The blog posts are centered around press release’s Google Alerts picks up and I edit them down. I think have been taking it a step further and tweeting out the link on my personal Twitter account to create more exposure and more hits. It’s been nice to have this long running project because it constantly gives me something to do and it’s a chance to show off my self-starting attitude.

 

2) Twitter gathering. For the past few weeks I have been gathering industry trends about our clients, not their products, and compiling them into lists for my coworkers. This means trying to find whatever gossip is out there, find the source and report back. While this has been a fun way to get really involved with what’s going on with my company, it can be pretty boring and not as exciting as you would imagine gossip to be.

 

3) Press lists. In Vocus, I have been gathering the names, contact info and publication URLs for various writers who talk about our clients products or our clients themselves. I think compile the information into a list for our client so that they can monitor who is talking about them and what they are saying. It’s also a way for us to know who to pitch new information to based on the articles they have written previously. I am definitely getting to know who the big shots are in the technology writing world and it’s been a good experience knowing who is who and what is what.

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Projects

  1. pdxsx says:

    Good job, Ayan. You have turned into a remarkable young professional, as of late. 🙂

    ~J

Leave a Reply

