Dealing with Emergencies

Face it, life sometimes throws us curve balls. How you handle them however will either make you or break you.

In my time at my current internship I have dealt with being extremely ill, a flat tire and having to pick my mother up from the airport. All of these happened suddenly and at the most unconveient times. Did I freak out and email everyone in my office and alert them of my horrible situation in extreme detail? Yes. Was that the proper way to go about it? No.

I allowed the pressure of this internship opportunity to get the best of me at times. I was so nervous at making any tiny mistake that I started walking on eggshells so that I never made any. The curve balls I was thrown are NOT big deals and do NOT need to be treated as such. They need to be addressed, explained briefly and then given an answer. Every single time that I had any problem and came to my bosses, they were understanding and calm about them.

Although at the time the situation seems stressful, you should take a deep breath and realize that you are allowed to have mistakes come up in your life. Now, if I have a problem I address is asap and in a calm professional way. Nine out of ten times they don’t even care that I am going to be late or can’t come in that day. They are humans also and we have to remember that!

NOW BREATH!

 

About Ayan Jama

I am a University of Oregon graduate with a BA in Journalism with a focus in Magazine and Public Relations. I enjoy foreign movies, white chocolate, shoes, and friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

